Mouraria-Viertel von Martin Moniz aus gesehen, mit der Burg São Jorge auf der Spitze des Hügels
Mouraria-Viertel von Martin Moniz aus gesehen, mit der Burg São Jorge auf der Spitze des Hügels

Mouraria

Mouraria ist eines der zentralsten typischen Viertel in Lissabon, ein Viertel, in dem wir fühlen und sehen können, wie es ist, in einer Mischung aus internationalen Umgebungen aus Lissabon zu kommen. Es ist eine Nachbarschaft, die gelebt und gefühlt werden muss, um das Leben der portugiesischen Fado-Kultur im Einklang mit den Bewohnern der östlichen und afrikanischen Kultur verstehen zu können. In Mouraria ist es möglich, Gebäude und Straßen unterschiedlicher Stile und Zeiten zu sehen: von Gebäuden mit einfachen Fassaden bis zu kunstvollsten Fassaden, von den verwinkelten Straßen bis zu den breitesten Straßen. Aufgrund der Hänge der Straßen können Sie in Mouraria die Fenster oben auf der Treppe sehen und umgekehrt, es ist ein gewundenes und labyrinthisches Viertel. Es ist das Viertel, in dem Dom Afonso Henriques die Muslime unterbrachte, die nach der christlichen Reconquista 1147 weiterhin in Lissabon lebten. Es ist das Viertel des Fado, der Ort, an dem Severa, der erste Fado-Sänger war bekannt. Mouraria hat ein Eigenleben: Es gibt eine große Anzahl von Geschäften und kleinen Läden, Fado-Häusern, Restaurants und Tavernen, in denen wir die typischsten Rezepte aus Portugal und anderen Orten der Welt probieren können. Es ist ein Viertel mit einer der größten kulturellen Unterschiede der portugiesischen Hauptstadt, mit mehr als 60 Nationalitäten, mit großen Gemeinschaften aus asiatischen und afrikanischen Ländern, nämlich Pakistan, Bangladesch, China, Indien und Mosambik, weshalb wir die Aromen in der Luft riechen können. Eigenschaften der östlichen Welt. In Mouraria trägt die rassische und kulturelle Vielfalt zu einem friedlichen Leben in Harmonie bei. Ein Ort zum Leben, Investieren und Besuchen.

Das Viertel Mouraria wird vom Gemeinderat Santa Maria Maior verwaltet.

Die Mouraria-Umwelt

Mouraria ist ein multikulturelles Viertel voller Gerüche, Farben, Geräusche … Als wir Mouraria betreten, spüren wir die Verengung der Straßen, mit der Ansammlung von Menschen verschiedener Ethnien, die die Straßen überqueren, labyrinthische Straßen mit dem traditionellen portugiesischen Natursteinboden nach Alter poliert. Es gibt verschiedene Routen, auf denen wir Mouraria kennenlernen, über den Martin-Moniz-Platz, über Arroios, über Baixa, über Alfama oder über Graça neben dem Schlosshang einfahren können. Mouraria ist ein Viertel, das von den historischsten Vierteln Lissabons umgeben ist

Mouraria ist ein Viertel labyrinthischer Straßen mit Gebäuden am Hang, mit verschiedenen Farben und verschiedenen Umgebungen.
Mouraria ist ein Viertel labyrinthischer Straßen mit Gebäuden am Hang, mit verschiedenen Farben und verschiedenen Umgebungen.
Mouraria ist ein Synonym für Fado. Hier lebten einige der großen Charaktere, die mit der Herkunft des Fado in Portugal zu tun hatten, nämlich Maria Severa, die erste berühmte Fado-Sängerin, Fernando Maurício, der König des Mado-Fado, und viele andere
Mouraria ist ein Synonym für Fado. Hier lebten einige der großen Charaktere, die mit der Herkunft des Fado in Portugal zu tun hatten, nämlich Maria Severa, die erste berühmte Fado-Sängerin, Fernando Maurício, der König des Mado-Fado, und viele andere

Hauptattraktionen im Stadtteil Mouraria (Top 10)

1. Rooftop Bar Hotel Mundial (Rooftop Bar Hotel Mundial) ist aufgrund des Panoramablicks über die Burg São Jorge, Rossio und den Tejo eine der berühmtesten Terrassen in Lissabon. Das Rooftop Bar Hotel Mundial befindet sich auf der Spitze des Hotels Mundial im Herzen des Praça Martim Moniz*, und ist eine luxuriöse Terrasse mit Barservice, auf der Unternehmen und Einzelpersonen Partys veranstalten oder organisieren können eine friedliche Umgebung, die durch die privilegierte Lage über Lissabon entstanden ist …

2. Haus aus Severa (Casa da Severa) ist eine Erweiterung des Fado-Museums, in der Sie Fado hören und das Leben von Maria Severa Onofriana kennenlernen können, die als erste portugiesische Fado-Sängerin bekannt ist. In der Casa da Severa in Largo da Severa können wir die Casa de Fados und die Café-Bar. Besuchen.

Casa da Severa ist eine Erweiterung des Fado-Museums, in dem Sie Fado hören und das Leben von Maria Severa Onofriana kennenlernen können
Casa da Severa ist eine Erweiterung des Fado-Museums, in dem Sie Fado hören und das Leben von Maria Severa Onofriana kennenlernen können

3. Kirche von São Cristóvão (Igreja de São Cristóvão) ist ein Gebäude aus dem 17. Jahrhundert in Largo de São Cristóvão, in das eine der ältesten Gemeinden der Stadt Lissabon integriert ist, die im 13. Jahrhundert als Igreja de bekannt wurde Santa Maria de Alcamim. Die Höhepunkte der Igreja de São Cristóvão sind die 36 Gemälde von Bento Coelho da Silveira (1617-1708); das Grab von Bischof Dom Fernando de Miranda, Kaplan von Dom Afonso V; und o o Grab von Dom Martim Afonso, Erzbischof von Braga, Gouverneur während der Regierungszeit von Dom Duarte und Hauptrat von Dom João II.

Die Kirche São Cristóvão ist ein Gebäude aus dem 17. Jahrhundert, eines der sehr seltenen Gebäude in Lissabon, das auf wundersame Weise vom Erdbeben von 1755 verschont blieb
Die Kirche São Cristóvão ist ein Gebäude aus dem 17. Jahrhundert, eines der sehr seltenen Gebäude in Lissabon, das auf wundersame Weise vom Erdbeben von 1755 verschont blieb

4. Die Kirche von Nossa Senhora da Saúde (Igreja de Nossa Senhora da Saúde) ist der Ausgangspunkt der Prozession von Nossa Senhora da Saúde, der ältesten Prozession in der Stadt Lissabon, die seit 1570 kontinuierlich abgehalten wird. Die Prozession Nossa Senhora da Saúde wurde abgehalten, um der Bevölkerung von Lissabon für das Ende des Schwarzen Todes zu danken. Die Kirche von Nossa Senhora da Saúde wurde 1505 erbaut und nach dem Erdbeben von 1755 renoviert. Die Sehenswürdigkeiten der Kirche von Nossa Senhora da Saúde sind die Bild von Nossa Senhora da Saúde aus dem 17. Jahrhundert; das Eingangsportal aus dem 18. Jahrhundert, von João Antunes; und die Fliesenplatten; verfasst von António de Oliveira Bernardes (1662-1732).

5. Zuhause Fernando Maurício (Casa Fernando Maurício) ist eine Erweiterung des Fado-Museums, das dem Fado-Sänger Fernando Maurício (1933-2003) „O Rei do Fado e Mouraria“ in der Rua João do Outeiro gewidmet ist . Die Attraktionen von Casa Fernando Maurício sind die Videos und Interviews des Fado-Sängers Fernando Maurício; die vollständige Diskographie und die Porträts und eine Büste, die Fernando Maurício gewidmet sind.

Casa Fernando Maurício ist eine Erweiterung des Fado-Museums, das dem Fado-Sänger Fernando Maurício (1933-2003) gewidmet ist, der als „König des Fado da Mouraria“ gilt.
Casa Fernando Maurício ist eine Erweiterung des Fado-Museums, das dem Fado-Sänger Fernando Maurício (1933-2003) gewidmet ist, der als „König des Fado da Mouraria“ gilt.

6. Haus aus Achada (Casa da Achada) ist ein Raum, der dem Maler Mário Dionísio (1916-1993) gewidmet ist und sich in der Rua da Achada befindet. Die Höhepunkte der Casa da Achada sind die Privatbibliotheken von Mário Dionísio und Maria Letícia Clemente da Silva; o Raum für eine Dauerausstellung von Mário Dionísios Werken; o Lesebereich für Forscher und Besucher; und die Außenterrasse.

7. Mouraria gewidmetes Denkmal (Monumento dedicado à Mouraria) ist eine Skulptur aus Naturmarmor mit der Darstellung einer portugiesischen Gitarre, auf der Sie „Symbol von Mouraria, Matriz do Fado“ lesen können. Das Mouraria gewidmete Denkmal befindet sich am Eingang der Rua do Capelão.

8. Werkstatt Camilla Watson (Atelier Camilla Watson) ist das Studio, in dem sich die britische Fotografin Camilla Watson der Vorbereitung von Fotografien für die von ihr organisierten Ausstellungen widmet. Camilla Watson, die seit 2007 in Mouraria lebt, hat zur Verbreitung der lokalen Geschichte im Freien beigetragen, und zwar durch die Teilnahme an den Projekten „Um Tributo“, einer Ausstellung mit Fotografien in Largo de São Cristóvão und bei Beco das Farinhas; „Porträts des Fado – Eine Hommage an Mouraria“ eine Ausstellung mit Fotografien in der Rua do Capelão, der Rua João do Outeiro, der Rua da Guia, der Rua Marquês Ponte de Lima und dem Largo das Olarias und in Travessa da Nazaré; und „Canto do Sol“ eine Ausstellung mit einer Tafel mit 80 Mosaiken in der Rua dos Lagares.

Rua das Farinhas in Mouraria, wo wir einen Teil von Camila Watsons Fotoausstellung finden, die den Bewohnern des Stadtteils Mouraria gewidmet ist
Rua das Farinhas in Mouraria, wo wir einen Teil von Camila Watsons Fotoausstellung finden, die den Bewohnern des Stadtteils Mouraria gewidmet ist

9. Mouraria Innovationszentrum / Mouraria Creative Hub (Centro de Inovação da Mouraria / Mouraria Creative Hub) ist der erste „Inkubator für die Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft von Lissabon“ in der Rua dos Lagares. Das Innovationszentrum soll Unternehmern in verschiedenen Geschäftsbereichen, nämlich Gastronomie, Design, Mode, Musik oder Fliesen, Unterstützung bieten. Die folgenden Attraktionen können wir besuchen: a Platz für 50 Unternehmer; die Archäologische Ausstellung „Quarteirão dos Lagares: mit dem Thema von Mouraria bis Vila Nova.

10. Beliebte Mouraria-Küche (Cozinha Popular da Mouraria) ist ein multikulturelles Projekt, das darauf abzielt, Einwanderer, die in Mouraria leben, aus der ganzen Welt mithilfe der Gastronomie sozial zu integrieren. Das Cozinha Popular da Mouraria befindet sich in der Rua das Olarias. Die Hauptattraktionen konzentrieren sich auf die Aromen der asiatischen, afrikanischen oder arabischen Küche oder auf die Erfahrung, das Rezept zuzubereiten, das als Mahlzeit dient.

Weitere Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Umgebung von Mouraria

  • Oficina Santa Rufina ist der Ort, an dem die portugiesische Künstlerin Cristina Lopes ihre Kunst ausübt, eine Spezialistin für Fliesenmalerei. Die Oficina Santa Rufina an der Calçada Conde Penafiel ist aufgrund der vom Künstler entwickelten Fliesenarbeiten einen Besuch wert.
  • Zé da Mouraria ist das bekannteste Restaurant in Mouraria in der Rua João do Outeiro. Das Zé da Mouraria wurde von Minhoto Virgílio eingeweiht, der sich durch den Bacalhau Assado à Zé da Mouraria und die Holzkohlegrills auszeichnete.
  • Zé dos Cornos ist ein Restaurant, das für sein Tasca-Erscheinungsbild bekannt ist. Die traditionellen Holztische sind in einem Korridor angeordnet und verfügen über eine einfache Gastronomie, nämlich das Pork Piano ( Spitze der Rippen), der Bacalhau Assado und die Schinken- und Käsegerichte. Das Restaurant Zé dos Cornos findet befindet sich auf der Rua dos Surradores.
  • Távora-Palast (Palácio dos Távora)
  • Straße Benformoso (Rua do Benformoso)
  • Verein erneuern Mouraria (Associação Renovar a Mouraria)
  • Maria da Mouraria Fado Haus (Casa de Fados Maria da Mouraria)
  • Mouraria Einkaufszentrum (Centro Comercial da Mouraria)
  • In der Nähe von Fernandina von 1373/75 (Cerca Fernandina de 1373/75)
  • College of Orphaned Boys (Colégio dos Meninos Órfãos)
  • Mouraria Fado Schule (Escola de Fado da Mouraria)
  • Largo da Achada (Largo da Achada)
  • Fusionsmarkt (Mercado de Fusão)

Hauptstraßen und Plätze in der Nähe von Mouraria

Praça Martim Moniz ist einer der größten Plätze der Stadt Lissabon, auf dem immer viele Einheimische, Touristen, Straßenbahnen, Tuck Tucks, Privatfahrzeuge und öffentliche Verkehrsmittel unterwegs sind. Der Praça Martim Moniz ist ein Kreuzungspunkt für Mouraria, Largo do Intendente und Baixa, der für verschiedene Aspekte bekannt ist, nämlich für die Multikulturalität, von sei der Ausgangspunkt der historischen Straßenbahn 28 und der Handwerks- und Gastronomiemessen. Martim Moniz war der Ritter von Dom Afonso Henriques, der starb, als er die Schließung eines von den Türen der Stadt Lissabon im Jahr 1147, diese Geste erlaubt die Einnahme von Lissabon.

Straße Mouraria ist die wichtigste Straße im Stadtteil Mouraria mit einer Verbindung zwischen Praça Martim Moniz und Rua do Benformoso. Die Rua da Mouraria ist ein großer Ort, an dem man Multikulturalismus beobachten und die Gerüche der Nachbarschaft spüren kann, und zwar durch die Anwesenheit mehrerer chinesischer, indischer oder nepalesischer Restaurants, guineischer oder mosambikanischer Cafés und Reisebüros. Nepalesische oder pakistanische Reisen, Halal-Fleischmetzger oder durch den Verkauf von asiatischen Gewürzen und Tees im Mouraria Shopping Center. Die Rua da Mouraria hat einige Attraktionen, nämlich die Straßenbahnhaltestelle 28 und die Kirche von Nossa Senhora da Saúde. Mouraria ist so benannt, weil es der Ort war, an dem Muslime nach der Eroberung von lebten Lissabon im Jahre 1147.

Largo da Severa ist aufgrund des Geburtsortes von Severa Onofriana, der ersten portugiesischen Fado-Sängerin einer der wichtigsten Plätze in Mouraria. Das Largo da Severa verbindet die Rua do Capelão mit der Rua da Guia mit den Sehenswürdigkeiten von Casa da Severa und Casa Fernando Maurício.

Straße Capelão ist der Ort, an dem Fernando Maurício geboren wurde. Die Rua do Capelão verbindet die Rua da Mouraria mit Largo da Severa, benannt nach dem Vorhandensein eines Gebetsraums im 16. Jahrhundert. Die Hauptattraktionen sind das Denkmal für „Mouraria – Berço do Fado“; das Restaurant „Os Amigos da Severa“; die Casa de Fados Maria da Mouraria; und die Ausstellung der Künstlerin Camilla Watson, die 26 mit Mouraria verbundene Fadistas zeigt.

Touristische Entwicklungen in Mouraria

  • 1908 Lisboa Hotel
  • Hotel Mundial
  • Inn Possible Hostel

Transport und Zugang in Mouraria

Mouraria verfügt über folgende Transportmittel:

  • U-Bahnhof Martim Moniz
  • Straßenbahn 28
  • Martim Moniz Parkplatz

Lage der Gemeinde Santo António (Mouraria) auf der Karte von Lissabon

Lage der Gemeinde Santo António auf der Karte von Lissabon
Lage der Gemeinde Santo António auf der Karte von Lissabon
Back to Top
error:

Mouraria neighborhood seen from Martin Moniz, with São Jorge Castle at the top of the hill

Mouraria neighborhood seen from Martin Moniz, with São Jorge Castle at the top of the hill

Mouraria

Mouraria is one of the most central typical neighborhoods in Lisbon, a neighborhood where we can feel and see what it is like to be from Lisbon in a mix of international environments. It is a neighborhood that has to be lived and felt to be able to understand the life of Portuguese Fado culture in harmony with the inhabitants of Eastern and African cultures. In Mouraria, it is possible to see buildings and streets of different styles and times: from buildings with simple facades to the most elaborate facades, from the most winding streets, to the widest streets. Due to the slopes of the streets, in Mouraria you can see the windows at the top of stairs, and vice versa, it is a winding and labyrinthine neighborhood. It is the neighborhood where Dom Afonso Henriques placed the Muslims who continued to live in Lisbon after the Christian Reconquista in 1147. It is the neighborhood of fado, the place where Severa, was the first fado singer known. Mouraria has a life of its own: it has a large number of shops and small shops, fado houses, restaurants and taverns where we can taste the most typical recipes from Portugal and other places in the world. It is a neighborhood with one of the greatest cultural diversities in the Portuguese capital, with over 60 nationalities, with great communities from Asian and African countries, namely Pakistan, Bangladesh, China, India and Mozambique, which is why we can smell the aromas in the air characteristics of the eastern world. At Mouraria, racial and cultural diversity contributes to a peaceful life in harmony. A place to live, invest and visit.

The Mouraria neighborhood is administered by the Santa Maria Maior Parish Council.

The Mouraria Environment

Mouraria is a multicultural neighborhood, full of smells, colors, sounds … As we enter Mouraria, we feel the narrowing of the streets, with the agglomeration of people of different ethnicities crossing the streets, labyrinthine streets, with the traditional Portuguese natural stone floor polished by age. There are several paths that we can take to get to know Mouraria, enter through Martin Moniz square, through Arroios, arrive through Baixa, down through Alfama, or through Graça, next to the Castle slope. Mouraria is a neighborhood surrounded by Lisbon’s most historic neighborhoods

Mouraria is a neighborhood of labyrinthine streets, with buildings built on the hillside, with different colors and diverse environments.

Mouraria is a neighborhood of labyrinthine streets, with buildings built on the hillside, with different colors and diverse environments.

Mouraria is synonymous with Fado, it was here that some of the great characters related to the origin of Fado in Portugal lived, namely Maria Severa, the first famous fado singer, Fernando Maurício, the king of Mado fado, and many others

Mouraria is synonymous with Fado, it was here that some of the great characters related to the origin of Fado in Portugal lived, namely Maria Severa, the first famous fado singer, Fernando Maurício, the king of Mado fado, and many others

Main attractions to visit in the Mouraria neighborhood (top 10)

1. Rooftop Bar Hotel Mundial is one of the most famous terraces in Lisbon due to the panoramic view over São Jorge Castle, Rossio and the Tagus River. The Rooftop Bar Hotel Mundial is located at the top of the Hotel Mundial in the heart of Praça Martim Moniz*, is a luxury terrace with bar service, where companies and individuals can gather or organize parties with a peaceful environment originated by the privileged situation over Lisbon …

2. Casa da Severa is an extension of the Fado Museum, where you can listen to fado and get to know the life of Maria Severa Onofriana, known as the first Portuguese fado singer. At the Casa da Severa located in Largo da Severa we can visit the Casa de fados and the Café bar.

Casa da Severa is an extension of the Fado Museum, where you can listen to fado and get to know the life of Maria Severa Onofriana

Casa da Severa is an extension of the Fado Museum, where you can listen to fado and get to know the life of Maria Severa Onofriana

3. Igreja de São Cristóvão is a 17th century building located in Largo de São Cristóvão, integrating one of the oldest parishes in the city of Lisbon, known in the 13th century as Igreja de Santa Maria de Alcamim. The highlights of the Igreja de São Cristóvão are the 36 paintings painted by Bento Coelho da Silveira (1617-1708); the Tomb of Bishop Dom Fernando de Miranda, chaplain of Dom Afonso V; and o o Tomb of Dom Martim Afonso, Archbishop of Braga, Governor during the Reign of Dom Duarte and main Councilor of Dom João II.

São Cristóvão Church is a 17th century building, one of the very rare buildings in Lisbon that was miraculously spared by the 1755 earthquake

São Cristóvão Church is a 17th century building, one of the very rare buildings in Lisbon that was miraculously spared by the 1755 earthquake

4. Church of Nossa Senhora da Saúde is the starting point of the Procession of Nossa Senhora da Saúde, the oldest procession in the city of Lisbon, which has been held continuously since 1570. The Procession Nossa Senhora da Saúde began to be held as a way of thanking the population of Lisbon for the end of the Black Death. The Church of Nossa Senhora da Saúde was built in 1505 and renovated after the 1755 Earthquake. The points of interest of the Church of Nossa Senhora da Saúde are the Image of Nossa Senhora da Saúde dated from the 17th century; the 18th century entrance portal, authored by João Antunes; and the Tile panels; authored by António de Oliveira Bernardes (1662-1732).

5. Casa Fernando Maurício is an extension of the Fado Museum, dedicated to the fado singer Fernando Maurício (1933-2003), “O Rei do Fado e Mouraria”, located at Rua João do Outeiro . The attractions of Casa Fernando Maurício are the videos and interviews of the fado singer Fernando Maurício; the Complete discography and the Portraits and a Bust dedicated to Fernando Maurício.

Casa Fernando Maurício is an extension of the Fado Museum, dedicated to the fado singer Fernando Maurício (1933-2003), considered “the King of Fado da Mouraria”

Casa Fernando Maurício is an extension of the Fado Museum, dedicated to the fado singer Fernando Maurício (1933-2003), considered “the King of Fado da Mouraria”

6. Casa da Achada is a space dedicated to the painter Mário Dionísio (1916-1993), located at Rua da Achada. The highlights of the Casa da Achada are the Private Libraries by Mário Dionísio and Maria Letícia Clemente da Silva; o Space for permanent exhibition of Mário Dionísio’s works; o Reading space for researchers and visitors; and the outdoor terrace.

7. Monument dedicated to Mouraria is a sculpture in natural marble with the representation of a Portuguese guitar, where you can read “Symbol of Mouraria, Matriz do Fado”. The Monument dedicated to Mouraria is located at the entrance of Rua do Capelão.

8. Atelier Camilla Watson is the studio where British photographer Camilla Watson is dedicated to preparing photographs for the exhibitions she organizes. Camilla Watson, living in Mouraria since 2007, has contributed to the dissemination of local history in outdoor spaces, namely through the participation of the projects “Um Tributo”, an exhibition with photographs located in Largo de São Cristóvão and at Beco das Farinhas; “Portraits of Fado – A Tribute to Mouraria” an exhibition with photographs at Rua do Capelão, Rua João do Outeiro, Rua da Guia, Rua Marquês Ponte de Lima, Largo das Olarias and at Travessa da Nazaré; and “Canto do Sol” an exhibition with a panel of 80 mosaics in Rua dos Lagares.

Rua das Farinhas in Mouraria, where we find a part of Camila Watson's photographic exhibition dedicated to residents of the Mouraria neighborhood

Rua das Farinhas in Mouraria, where we find a part of Camila Watson’s photographic exhibition dedicated to residents of the Mouraria neighborhood

9. Mouraria Innovation Center / Mouraria Creative Hub is the first “incubator dedicated to the cultural and creative industries of Lisbon”, located at Rua dos Lagares. The Innovation Center is intended to be a space to support entrepreneurs in various business areas, namely Gastronomy, Design, Fashion, Music or Tiles, with the following attractions that we can visit: a Space for 50 entrepreneurs; the Archeology exhibition “Quarteirão dos Lagares: with the theme from Mouraria to Vila Nova.

10. Popular Cuisine of Mouraria is a multicultural project that aims to use gastronomy to socially integrate immigrants who live in Mouraria from all corners of the world. The Cozinha Popular da Mouraria is located at Rua das Olarias, with the main attractions focused on the aromas of Asian, African or Arab cuisine or the experience of cooking the recipe that will serve as a meal.

Other attractions to explore in the Mouraria neighborhood

  • Oficina Santa Rufina is the space where Portuguese artist Cristina Lopes exercises her art, a specialist in tile painting. The Oficina Santa Rufina located on Calçada Conde Penafiel, is worth a visit due to the tile work developed by the artist.
  • Zé da Mouraria is the best known restaurant in Mouraria, located at Rua João do Outeiro. The Zé da Mouraria was inaugurated by minhoto Virgílio, standing out for the Bacalhau Assado à Zé da Mouraria and for the charcoal grills.
  • Zé dos Cornos is a restaurant known for its “tasca” appearance, with traditional wooden tables arranged in a corridor, with a simple gastronomy, namely the Pork Piano ( tip of the ribs), the Bacalhau Assado and the dishes of ham and cheese. The restaurant Zé dos Cornos finds located on Rua dos Surradores.
  • Palace dos Távora (Palácio dos Távora)
  • Street do Benformoso (Rua do Benformoso)
  • Association Renovar a Mouraria (Associação Renovar a Mouraria)
  • Fado House Maria da Mouraria (Casa de Fados Maria da Mouraria)
  • Mouraria Shopping Center (Centro Comercial da Mouraria)
  • Fernandina Wall of 1373/75 (Cerca Fernandina de 1373/75)
  • College of Orphaned Boys (Colégio dos Meninos Órfãos)
  • Mouraria Fado School (Escola de Fado da Mouraria)
  • Largo da Achada (Largo da Achada)
  • Fusion Market (Mercado de Fusão)

Main streets and squares in the Mouraria neighborhood

Praça Martim Moniz is one of the largest squares in the city of Lisbon, always bustling with locals, tourists, trams, tuck tucks, private vehicles and public transport. The Praça Martim Moniz is a crossing point for Mouraria, Largo do Intendente and Baixa, being known for several aspects, namely for the multiculturality, by be the starting point of historic Tram 28 and the handicraft and gastronomy fairs. Martim Moniz was the knight of Dom Afonso Henriques who died when he prevented the closing of a from the doors of the city of Lisbon in 1147, this gesture having allowed the taking of Lisbon.

Street Mouraria is the most important street in the district of Mouraria, with connection between Praça Martim Moniz and Rua do Benformoso. The Rua da Mouraria is a large place, where it is possible to observe multiculturalism, to feel the smells of the neighborhood, namely through the presence of several Chinese, Indian or Nepalese restaurants, Guinean or Mozambican cafés, Nepalese or Pakistani trips, Halal meat butchers or through the sale of Asian spices and teas at the Mouraria Shopping Center. The Rua da Mouraria has some attractions, namely the tram stop 28 and the Church of Nossa Senhora da Saúde. Mouraria is so named because it was the place where Muslims lived after the Conquest of Lisbon in 1147.

Largo da Severa is one of the most important squares in Mouraria due to the birthplace of Severa Onofriana, the first Portuguese fado singer. The Largo da Severa connects Rua do Capelão to Rua da Guia, with the attractions of Casa da Severa and Casa Fernando Maurício.

Street do Capelão is the place where Fernando Maurício was born. The Rua do Capelão connects Rua da Mouraria to Largo da Severa, being named after the presence of a prayer space in the 16th century. The main attractions are the Monument dedicated to “Mouraria – Berço do Fado”; the restaurant “Os Amigos da Severa”; the Casa de Fados Maria da Mouraria; and the Exhibition by the artist Camilla Watson which depicts twenty-six fadistas linked to Mouraria.

Tourist developments in Mouraria

  • 1908 Lisboa Hotel
  • Hotel Mundial
  • Inn Possible Hostel

Transport and Access in Mouraria

Mouraria has the following transport available:

  • Martim Moniz Metro Station
  • Tram 28
  • Martim Moniz Car Park

Location of the Parish of Santo António (Mouraria) on the map of Lisbon

Santo António parish location on the map of Lisbon

Santo António parish location on the map of Lisbon

[custom-related-posts title=”Visit other places near Mouraria” none_text=”…in update” order_by=”title” order=”ASC”]

error: Content is protected !!